Join AASP  Forgot Pin

Local Physician Promotes Cooperative Spinecare




Interviews Welcomed



Local Physician Promotes Cooperative Spine Care


July 24, 2002 , - Dr. Chiropractic Physician/Neurosurgeon of has been accepted as a member to the American Academy of Spine Physicians (AASP).  The AASP has reviewed Dr. credentials and has granted membership with the Academy.


The primary mission of the AASP is to improve the quality of spine care through open dialogue, continuing education, clinical interaction between neurosurgeons and chiropractic physicians and by promoting a patient’s right to be informed of therapeutic options.  As a member of the organization, Dr. is dedicated to placing the needs of the patient first, while promoting comprehensive and cost-efficient spine care.


“Back pain is one of the most common disorders encountered in health care practice.”  Commented Dr. . “It often ranks as one of the top reasons for employee absenteeism and afflicts approximately eight of every ten Americans during their lifetime.  The AASP is preparing its members to meet these growing concerns at all levels.”


Cooperative interdisciplinary efforts between chiropractic physicians and neurosurgeons will promote early detection, timely intervention and improved continuity of care.  Additionally, a broadened scope of preventative, rehabilitative and minimally invasive approaches will reduce the impact of spine-related disability.


The AASP is an organization comprised of neurosurgeons and chiropractic physicians committed to improving the quality of spine care through cooperative and conservative efforts.  The AASP is member driven organization, guided by an interdisciplinary board of directors and an Academy Council composed of distinguished neurosurgeons and chiropractic physicians throughout the country. 


 The Academy Council includes Edward C. Benzel, M.D., neurosurgeon at the Cleveland Clinic, George J. Dohrmann, M.D., Ph.D., neurosurgeon at the University of Chicago, David H. Durrant, D.C., chiropractic neurologist at the Chicago Neuroscience Institute and author of a neurology textbook, Barth A. Green, M.D., neurosurgeon and President of the Miami Project to Cure Paralysis, one of the largest spinal cord research and intervention centers in the country, Vincent Lucido, D.C., current President of the Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research (FCER), Stephen L. Ondra, M.D., neurosurgeon at Northwestern University Medical Center, John F. Shea, M.D., attending neurosurgeon at Loyola University Medical Center, Steve Vanni, D.O., D.C., neurosurgeon and chiropractic physician at the University of Miami Medical Center, and Wayne M. Whalen, D.C., Past President of the California Chiropractic Association, and Terry R. Yochum, D.C., chiropractic radiologist and professor at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.


Dr. ’s practice is located at and can be found online at .  For further information about Dr. contact him/her directly at or via email at .  For further information about the AASP contact Christine Martin at (847) 697-4660 or visit the AASP’s Web site at



Copyright ©  2003 American Academy of Spine Physicians
Voice(847) 697-4660 Fax (847) 931-7975 Email:  *Disclaimer*