Members In The News


Terry Yochum, D.C. During June of 2003, Dr. Terry Yochum, chiropractic radiologist and member of the AASP Academy Council was awarded Radiology Teacher of the Year by residents of the University of Colorado, School of Medicine, Department of Radiology. Each year graduating residents have the opportunity to honor the instructor who has provided the highest level of academic and clinical instruction. This is the seventh time Dr. Yochum has received this distinquished recognition.  No other radiologist has achieved this acclamation more than twice.

Scott Haldemann, D.C., M.D., Ph.D., The Foundation of Chiropractic Research and Education (FCER) named Dr. Haldemann 2002 Researcher of the year. Dr. Haldemann has been one of most influential physicians and researchers in the advancement and acceptance of chiropractic research. The award will be presented to Dr. Haldemann on
May 3, 2003 at the World Federation of Chiropractic's Congress in Orlando, Florida.

George P. McClelland, D.C. During March of 2003 George P. McClelland, D.C. provided testimony to the Chiropractic Advisory Committee of the Department of Veterans Affairs, Also in Washington. His testimony cited support for benchmarks with which to judge the effectiveness of chiropractic care.

David Durrant, D.C. and George Dohrmann, M.D., Ph.D., were recently interviewed for a feature (Focus) article titled Surgery Versus Conservative Care to be published in the Journal of the American Chiropractic Association (JACA) in February of 2003

Edward Benzel, M.D., is serving as the Chairman of the Council of Spine Societies.

George Dohrmann, M.D., PhD., a previous recipient of the Bucy Award, presented the 2003 Bucy Award to Madjid Samii, M.D., President of the International Neuroscience Institute, Hannover, Germany. The award honors the late Dr. Paul Bucy, a national and internationally renowned neurosurgeon. The award is given annually to a person who has made outstanding contributions to neurosurgical education.

David Durrant, D.C. and Jerome True, D.C., board certified chiropractic neurologists, recently received the highest peer review rating available "10 out of 10" for their benchmark neurology textbook titled Myelopathy, Radiculopathy and Peripheral Entrapment Syndromes. The book summary and rating was recently published in Dynamic Chiropractic and book remains on their preferred reading list. The textbook represents one of the most concise treatises on the evaluation of myelopathy and radiculopathy. It also represents one of the first neuroscience textbooks authored by chiropractic physicians.

Barth Green, M.D., continues to direct the multimillion-dollar Miami Project to Cure Paralysis. Significant information about spinal cord injury and repair of such injury has gained international recognition and has been presented around the world. Dr. Green is a member of the Academy Council of the AASP.

George Dohrmann, M.D., Ph.D., is serving as quest editor of the journal, Neurological Research, and is working on a special issue devoted to spine/spinal cord injury as well as head/brain injury.

George McClelland, D.C., former President of the American Association of Spine Physicians and current member is presently serving as the Board Liaison to the Editorial Review Committee of the Journal of the American Chiropractic Association (JACCA).

John Triano D.C., Ph.D.

The Council on Chiropractic Guidelines and Practice Parameters (CCGPP) announced the appointment of John Triano, D.C., Ph.D. as the new chairmen of its research commission. The CCGPP was formed in 1995 by the Congress of Chiropractic State Association (COCSA) member organizations. Dr. Triano is a graduate of Logan College of Chiropractic and is presently an instructor and clinician at the renowned Texas Back Institute (TBI). Also to Dr. Triano’s credit he recently co-sponsored the North American Spine Societies conference on spinal manipulation along with fellow research Scott Haldemann, D.C., Ph.D., M.D. who is an AASP member and a Scientific Consultant to the AASP.

Copyright ©  2003 - 2008 American Academy of Spine Physicians
Voice(847) 697-4660 Fax (847) 931-7975 Email:  *Disclaimer*
Web Site Design by